Who's Online

We have 229 guests and no members online

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
Erythrocytes (Red Blood Cells)
The erythrocytes, or red blood cells ("corpuscles"), contain hemoglobin (substance that is able to bind with oxygen). Oxygen from the lungs is carried by the erythrocytes to all the tissues of the body. A person who has anemia, a condition caused by too few erythrocytes in the blood, may experience weakness, fatigue, and shortness of breath.

Leukocytes (White Blood Cells)
There are five different types of leukocytes, or white blood cells, within the body, including the following: * Neutrophils * Basophils * Eosinophils * Monocytes * Lymphocytes

These cells fight viral, bacterial, and other infections and participate in the hypersensitivity responses seen in allergic reactions.

Neutrophils, basophils, and eosinophils are granulocytes (white blood cells that destroy bacteria). Granulocytes are distinguished by the small particles, or granules, that reside within each cell and contain substances to fight infections. Granulocytes undergo many stages of development before becoming mature neutrophils, basophils, or eosinophils. The more immature, myeloid series of granulocytes include cells known as myeloblasts, promyelocytes, myelocytes, metamyelocytes, band forms ("stab cells"), and polymorphonuclear leukocytes (PMNs).
  • Last Modified: Saturday 16 February 2019, 08:37:10.